
Nevada Division of Water Resources (NDWR) 
Well Driller Continuing Education Unit (CEU) Program 

Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 534.2923, 2925 and 2927 
 
Introduction and Objectives 

 
During each renewal cycle, (July 1st through June 30th), licensed well drillers are required to earn at 
least 8 continuing education units (CEU’s) by attending training sessions or participating in ongoing 
education sponsored and/or approved by NDWR in order to renew a Nevada Well Driller License. 
Participation in on-going education allows the driller to stay informed of regulatory, industry, and 
technological advances and changes. Combining field experience with continuing education 
enhances the driller's knowledge and abilities. The primary objectives of the Nevada Driller CEU 
program are: 

 
• Develop a reasonable level of confidence among well drillers and contractors. 
• Increase public confidence in the well driller and contractor. 
• Increase protection of groundwater resources. 
• Increase compliance to well drilling regulations and pertinent statutes. 

 
Nevada CEU Requirements 

 
The following is a summary of the CEU program requirements in accordance with the Regulations 
for Water Well and Related Drilling. 

 
• Licensed drillers must complete the NDWR-sponsored "Nevada Well Drilling 

Regulations and Statutes" once every 2 years. 
• Licensed drillers must complete the NDWR-sponsored "How to Properly Complete a 

Notice of Intent Card, Well Driller’s Report, Affidavit of Intent to Abandon and 
Waiver forms" review course once every 2 years. 

• Licensed well drillers must earn a minimum of 8 CEU’s during a 1-year licensing cycle in 
order to renew their license for the next licensing cycle. 

• Well drillers are responsible for obtaining and maintaining the necessary documentation for 
each course attended and submitting the documentation with their license renewal 
application. 

• Generally, 1 hour of training or education will equal 1 CEU. However, some courses that are 
considered to be valuable by NDWR, but whose content is not directly related to well 
drilling, may be rated at less than 1 hour per CEU. Examples are courses related to pumps 
or groundwater hydrology/hydrogeology, which are typically rated at 1 CEU per 2 hours of 
instruction. Other, safety related courses, such as MSHA, OSHA, HAZWOPER and First 
Responder courses are rated at 1 CEU per 4 classroom hours. 

• 1 CEU may also be assigned to training courses that do not last at least 1 hour. A course 
must be a minimum of 45 minutes to receive 1 CEU. 

• A licensed driller who teaches an “approved” CEU course will receive 2 CEU’s for every 
hour of classroom training up to a maximum of 8 CEU’s. A licensed driller who teaches the 
same course more than once during the renewal period may not obtain more CEU’s for 
teaching the same course a second time. They may receive credit for teaching the same 
course every other year. 

• Up to 4 CEU’s in excess of 8 CEU’s can be carried over to the next licensing period. If the 
licensed well driller has demerit points assessed against their license pursuant to NAC 



Chapter 534, any extra CEU’s may first go towards reducing the total number of demerit 
points assessed to their license. 

 
CEU Approval Process 

 
NDWR approves training appropriate for CEU’s. NDWR may consider recommendations of the 
Nevada Well Drillers’ Advisory Board and keeps a list of approved courses that are updated regularly 
and can be accessed on NDWR’s website at water.nv.gov. 

 

It is responsibility of the licensed driller to decide how, when and where to take the training. 
Training/education courses should relate to occupational health and safety, business and office skills, 
interpersonal skills, technical aspects of the drilling industry, or other subjects that will enhance 
business, technical, or regulatory knowledge, skills, and abilities. A driller may look for training from 
members of professional associations, government agencies, private businesses, or individuals. A 
driller can choose from the list of courses; however, a driller is not limited to taking the courses that 
are on that list. Drillers can look for training opportunities in trade magazines, training flyers, 
brochures, advertisements in newspapers or mail, and courses offered at universities. Course work 
should be pre-approved by NDWR so that a driller will know if credit will be granted for a class not 
on the approved list. A driller may choose to take the course first and then ask for CEU approval, 
however, there is no guarantee that the course will be approved. The following is a list of topics that 
relate to well drilling that would be applicable to the CEU program. This list is by no means 
comprehensive, nor a guarantee that the listed courses will receive 1 CEU for every hour of 
instruction. This list is for information purposes only. 

 
Well Drilling-Related Education Topics 

 
Nevada Regulations (NAC 534) 
Water Rights Process 
Geologic Principles 
Groundwater Principles 
Cuttings Identification and Description 
Map Reading and GPS Use 
Aquifer Testing 
Well Disinfection Issues 
Well Rehabilitation Issues 
Water Quality and Geochemistry 
Surface Seals 
Groundwater Contamination 
Drinking Water Regulations 
Hydrology/Hydrogeology 
Well Plugging 
New Drilling Technology 
OSHA Certifications 
MSHA Certifications 
First Aid/CPR 

Drilling Muds 
Pump Systems 
Compressors 
Rigs and Maintenance 
Bits, Drill Pipe, Collars, Stabilizers 
Safety 
Contracting & Business 
Horizontal Drilling 
Hydrofracturing 
MW Construction & Environmental 
Screens &Perforations 
Client Relationships 
Geophysics & Down Hole Cameras 
Water Treatment Technology 
Well Maintenance 
Water Quality Sampling & Analysis 
Well Development 
Welding 

 
Request for a Program or Course Accreditation 

 
If a class or course does not appear as approved as listed on the NDWR website, the well driller or 
course instructor may obtain prior approval to ensure the credits will be accepted. The "Request for 
a Program or Course Accreditation” form is available on NDWR’s website. The driller or 



instructor will be asked to provide information on the course content, instructors, and course length. 
 
Obtaining, Maintaining, and Submitting Training Records 

 
In order to receive credit for a course, the driller must obtain a record of course completion and 
attendance from the course instructor/provider. This proof of attendance can consist of certificates, 
transcripts, diplomas, and attendance rosters. 

 
Licensed drillers must provide these proof documents at renewal. It is the responsibility of the 
licensed driller to maintain all documentation pertaining to CEU’s. 

 
Special Conditions and Appeals 

 
Newly licensed Well drillers will not be required to submit CEU’s during their first renewal cycle, 
e.g., driller licensed August 2022 will not have to provide 8 hours of CEU’s when renew their license 
in June 2023. The driller will need to provide evidence of completion of 8 CEU’s to renew their well 
driller license for all subsequent renewal cycles. If, during the first renewal period after the driller 
has obtained their licenses, the newly licensed driller participates in courses eligible for CEU’s, those 
hours may be carried over to the following renewal period, not to exceed 4 CEU’s.  

 
A driller may appeal the decision of NDWR to disallow a course approval or credits. An appeal must 
be made in writing and directed to NDWR. NDWR will evaluate appeals and hold a hearing, if 
necessary, on a case-by-case basis. 

 
Drillers who were not able to get the required CEU’s before the June 30th annual deadline because 
of a hardship situation must contact NDWR in writing. NDWR will review the merits of each 
situation and make a recommendation. The State Engineer may avail himself of the Well Drillers’ 
Advisory board to assist in making a decision as to the merits of appeals and hardships. Every well 
driller license expires on June 30th of each year unless a renewal application is timely received 
and approved. To reinstate an expired license, the driller must: File an Application for Well 
Driller’s License with the $100.00 fee AND PASS THE EXAMINATION required by NAC 
534.282 or PETETION the NDWR for and RECEIVE a waiver of the requirement to pass the 
examination. 

 
For More Information 

 
Questions regarding the Nevada Well Driller CEU program can be directed to Trevor Price at (775) 
684-2833, e-mailed at tlprice@water.nv.gov, faxed to (775) 684-2810 or mailed to NDWR, 901 
South Stewart Street, Suite 2002, Carson City, Nevada 89701. 

mailto:jecheverria@water.nv.gov
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