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A U T H O R I T Y   A N D   P U R P O S E 
 
The State Engineer is authorized and is responsible for maintaining water right files and accompanying 

documents as per Nevada Revised Statutes Chapters 111, 240, 375, 532, 533 and 534. 
 
By Nevada Revised Statute 111.167, water rights are presumed to transfer with the land to which 

appurtenant, unless the Grantor in conveyance documents specifically reserves the water rights.  A conveyance 
document is any instrument that legally transfers ownership of property.  It may be a Quitclaim Deed; Grant, 
Bargain and Sale Deed; a final Decree of Distribution; or a Certificate of Incorporation from the Secretary of 
State, etc.  As with land, water rights are considered “real property” and similar procedures are required to 
convey ownership. Although documents conveying title to land and water are required to be recorded in the 
County Recorder’s Office, the County Recorder does not forward copies of such documentation to the State 
Engineer’s Office. It is the new owner’s responsibility to file such documents with the State Engineer’s Office in 
a timely manner according to law.   

 
A Report of Conveyance (R.O.C)provides water right holders, agents, etc. a method and means to organize 

document submittals that will expedite processing in the Office of the State Engineer in accordance with NRS 
requirements.  The reporting process requires the party requesting a change of title from the currently recognized 
holder to submit a complete conveyance packet consisting of:  

 
1. A notarized Report of Conveyance form that identifies the application, permit, proof, or claim 

information,  
2. An Abstract of Title that catalogues the deeds or other documents which support a valid chain 

of title from the current holder to the new holder, (this requirement is waived when submitting 
only one deed) and 

3. Copies of all documents listed on the Abstract of Title that have not been filed previously with 
the Office of the State Engineer and any other pertinent information as required. Documents 
filed previously may be shown as “A.o.F.”(already on file) with the file number first submitted 
to eliminate excessive copying  Please note that when submitting several reports of conveyance 
for water rights having the same chain of title, only one copy of each submitted document is 
needed. Do not submit more than one copy of a document at a time. 

4. Payment of statutory fees of a one-time $120 filing fee and $20 per document per water right file 
number. 

 
The Office of the State Engineer will not consider or treat a person as an owner of the water right until the 

report is confirmed, including notifications, in granting of permits to change the point of diversion, place of use, 
or manner of use, etc. The State Engineer is not required to confirm a new owner of record where conflicts in the 
chain of title exist and/or if the duty or rate of diversion cannot be determined from the documentation filed. 
Reports returned with a notice of any deficiencies will be rejected unless the required information is supplied to 
cure the deficiency within the required period.  The Office of the State Engineer may waive specific 
requirements and may require additional supporting information, if circumstances warrant. 

 
 Conveyance deeds must be recorded at the proper county recorder’s office(s) before acceptance by the 

Division. Any deed not recorded with a county recorder is deemed void after October 1, 1995 against a 
subsequent purchaser who in good faith purchased the same water right and recorded his deed with the county 
recorder according to state law. The recording requirement establishes proof of constructive notice for valid 
recognition in the Office of the State Engineer to facilitate orderly processing.   County recorder offices usually 
require several weeks to return original documents after submittal for recording.  Please submit only copies of 
recorded originals and not conformed copies that can render some text unreadable. 
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The Office of the State Engineer, Division of Water Resources, reviews only the information that has been 
filed and may amend or update water right ownership upon receipt of additional information.  All forms used by 
the Division of Water Resources are now available for downloading from our website at http://water.nv.gov.  
This website includes both a Titles database useful for tracking progress of ROC submittals and a Permits 
database with ownership information, *.pdf certificates, abrogations, relinquishments, etc.  Any questions 
pertaining to deeds and R.O.C. submittals can be directed to the Deeds Section of the Division of Water 
Resources, 901 S. Stewart St. Ste. 2002, Carson City, NV 89701-5250, or call 775-684-2800. 

 
 *Effective July 1, 2003  NRS 111.312 and 247.110 recording requirements have been limited to paper size 

8½” x 11”, requires 1” margins, APN’s on upper left corner of first page, Grantee address, and blank  3” x 3” 
recording block in upper right hand corner of first page.  Documents not conforming to this criterion are subject 
to a $25.00 surcharge in addition to regular recording charges. 

 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE REPORT OF CONVEYANCE 
 
A complete and accurate Report of Conveyance packet with accompanying documents and fees constitutes a 

valid water right transfer of ownership request when submitted to the State Engineer. Please note that the notary 
stamp and signature must be original on each form and not a facsimile.  Please reference the Report of 
Conveyance blank form and the example form in Exhibit A.  An explanative example and a completed example 
of abstract of title forms are found in Exhibits B and C.  Note:  Items 7 to 11 may be left blank if filing only a 
Notice of Pledge and/or Deed of Trust. 

 
Item 1. Each Application, Permit, Proof or Claim requires a separate Report of Conveyance and Abstract of 

Title. Enter the “Application/Permit" Number on the first blank line or "Proof" or the decreed "Claim" 
number in the second blank. The Office of the State Engineer permanently assigns the Application Serial 
Numbers upon receipt of all new applications. ... Do not use Certificate Numbers.  See the Frequently 
Asked Questions section for an explanation of the different status meanings. 

 
• Specify the Status as an Application, Permit, Certificate, Proof, Decreed, Vested Right, Protested, 

Forfeited, Abrogated, etc.  Please note, if a subsequent permit has changed a water right, the new permit 
serial number is the appropriate water right on which to request an assignment rather than the earlier, 
abrogated right. 

• Specify the Use as Irrigation, Quasi-Municipal, Stock Water, Commercial, etc. 
  
Item 2. Current holders: List all owners’ names exactly as shown in the water rights files in the office of the 

State Engineer.  If the conveyance packet submitted is only transferring a portion of a permit, proof or 
claim, list only those previous owners relevant to that portion being conveyed. 

 
Item 3. New Owners: List all names exactly as listed on transfer documents being submitted along with current 

mailing address(es), phone number(s) and percentage(s) or portion(s). Do not use abbreviations or et. al. or 
et. ux. unless  specifically stated that way in the transfer documents.  New Beneficiary’s: List the lender’s 
name on Deed of Trust documents with contact information. If filing this ROC for both purposes, then one 
additional $120 Filing Fee is required. If more space is needed, use remarks Item 15 or an attachment sheet 
for multiple owners and addresses.  

 
Item 4. Copies of recorded documents are required. The recording number and time/date stamp must be 

included on each document.  Documents must be on 8½” x 11” paper, legible, arranged in chronological 
order and labeled with deed numbers to match the abstract.  Only a single copy of each document needs 
to be submitted when they are referenced in multiple abstracts.  These documents are then normally 
filed under the lowest permit, proof or claim number relevant to the submittal. Documents already on file in 
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 the Office of the State Engineer need not be duplicated or resubmitted, but will be assessed a document  
filing fee when listed in the abstract for another water right.  Abstracts should reference such documents as 
“A.O.F.” (Already On File) and state the deed number and water right under which the deed was previously 
filed.  No documents can be returned once the assignment is completed. 
 
       • Affidavits of Identity. Any differences in names (for example, Richard W. Carson, Sr. versus Richard 

W. Carson versus Richard Carson versus Dick Carson, etc.) of the Grantors and Grantees in the chain 
of title must be reconciled. An Affidavit of Identity may be used to reconcile differences listing all 
aliases. The affidavit must have an original notarized signature and notary stamp.  No filing fee will be 
charged for Affidavits of Identity supporting chain of title documents.  A model Affidavit of Identity 
has been included with these guidelines. Two variations of these exist, one for individual capacity and 
one when acting on behalf of a non-natural legal person (Representative). See Exhibit B, Line 6 for 
proper entry of an affidavit on the abstract. 

       • Notice of Pledge & Deed of Trust documents are filed "for security purposes only" to recognize 
collateral interests of beneficiaries, lenders, etc.  See more complete information in the separate 
Guidelines for Encumbering Water Rights- Notice to Lenders on how to file liens.  A model Notice of 
Pledge has been included with these guidelines that can be completed on-line, saved, and printed. 

    ..    An expedient and lower cost alternative to filing security instruments using the Report of Conveyance 
method is available by using the Instrument Filing Fee method.  This method uses our blank form 
customized to your specific information. See the exemplary form in our Forms Room.  Provide us one 
additional copy over the number of water rights to be encumbered plus $10.00 for each. The additional 
copy with a SASE will be returned as your conformed copy, while one copy is placed in each water 
right file. This method is more convenient, less costly and provides the same assurances as does filing 
it with the ROC except we do not send a confirmation letter. Note that we require original signatures 
of both borrower and lender on the two duplicate originals before copying 

    ..  Please contact the Deeds Section for more information concerning this alternative.  
 
       • Agreements, leases, liens, rental options, contracts, ditch rights or shares, etc. are not recognized as 

conveying ownership interest, however, such information may be submitted along with the 
appropriate deed(s) for purposes of clarification and are chargeable documents when submitted as a 
part of the abstract with a Report of Conveyance. 

       • A copy of a Death Certificate may be accepted to recognize the surviving joint tenant when an Affidavit 
Terminating Joint Tenancy is unavailable.  The affidavit should be procured whenever possible.  

 
Item  5.  A $120 filing fee plus $20 for each chargeable document must accompany the Report of 

Conveyance.  Checks should be made payable to “Nevada State Engineer.” 
 

   .. NOTE: Only one $120.00 filing fee is required for related Reports of Conveyance submitted at the same 
time and using an identical chain of title (i.e. same documents listed to transfer different water rights). A 
$20.00 fee is still required for each document per each water right (Example - 2 documents filed in 3 
permits = $120.00 plus $120.00 for the filing fee.) The $120.00 fee should be charged to the lowest water 
right number to which the chain applies.  The $120 filing fee becomes non-refundable after expiration of 
a 60-day response time limit to submit additional information.  See the long form titled Chain of Title 
Document Key for indications of how we may interpret each document style and fees associated with 
them. 

Item 6. Each item of the abstract must be completed. 
 
       • Use the standard letter size abstract form unless the conveyance transfers a Truckee River Decree Claim.  

There is a separate legal size Abstract of Title form for these and other decreed claims that can be 
obtained through our website. 
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    • List each deed chronologically by recording date, numbering the deeds consecutively, with the oldest 
deed listed first.  

       • List all grantors and grantees, exactly as they appear on each document. Note: Trusts and Estates are the 
legal owners. Do not list trustees or administrators as grantees or grantors without the specific name of 
the trust.  Substitution of Trustee documents must be included when necessary to show the transfer of 
authority. 

       • Specify the diversion rate (except for transfers under claims in the Carson River Decree), the Duty, and 
Units or Acres.  List only the acreages covered by the appurtenant water rights.  See Item 9 for units 
of diversion rate and duty.  These items must agree with the records of the State Engineer. 

       • When utilizing the Decreed Abstract of Title form for Truckee River Decree claims, list the Place of Use 
being transferred in each conveyance document specifying the water righted acreages within each 
applicable 40 acre subdivision (quarter-quarter) of each section, township and range. 

       • List the serial number assigned and the date recorded by the county recorder for each document. 
Common document description examples are depicted on the example abstract. The recorder’s 
information must be legible on all transfer documents. 

       • Identify maps by assessor's number, water right, parcel, subdivision, etc. with document numbers.  Maps 
are considered to be a part of the transfer document. 

   
Item 7. Supplemental Water Rights share a place of use or a portion thereof and should be transferred 

together. State the application, permit, proof or claim numbers for all the supplemental water rights. 
Separate Report of Conveyance forms need to be submitted for each water right. 

 
Item 8. Indicate the county(s) where the Point(s) of Diversion is/are located. Also indicate the county(s) of the 
Place(s) of Use, or if the place of use is in more than one county, indicate all counties.  If the point of diversion 
is in a different county than the place(s) of use, state law requires conveyance documents be recorded in each 
respective county.  Recording serves to notify the public that a title transfer has occurred. The recording 
numbers and recorders stamp from each county must be legible on your transfer documents and all county 
numbers are to be included on the abstract of title.  
 
Item 9.  Duties indicated must be verifiable in the Office of the State Engineer or no confirmation of assignment 

letter will be issued. Include a diversion rate in CFS and/or volume in acre-feet.  If the diversion rate is not 
stated, it will be calculated to be proportional to the volume in the permit or certificate: 

 
  diversion or flow rate 
   CFS = cubic feet per second   (1 CFS = 448.83 gallons per minute) 
 volume or duty  

 AFA = acre feet annually   MGA = million gallons annually 
 AFS = acre feet per season   MGS = million gallons per season 

 (723.97 AFA = 1 CFS flowing for 1 year)  (235.906 MGA =  1 CFS) 
 (1 AFA = 0.325851 MGA)   (1 MGA = 3.0689 AFA) 

 
 
Item 10.  If an Application to Change the P.O.D., P.O.U., or M.O.U. is already filed; mark the “Yes” box. If the water is 

to be used under the current permit or certificated terms, mark the “No” box.   
   P.O.D. stands for Point of Diverson; P.O.U. stands for Place of use and M.O.U. stands for Manner of use. 
 
Item 11.  Indicate the new Application to Change number.   
 
Item  12.  List any other permits utilizing the same abstract/chain of title. Report(s) of Conveyance can be supported by 

deed(s) already on file or submitted in other reports, if correlation is established and referenced properly in the 
abstract as “A.O.F.” citing filed locations, such as A.O.F. under Permit 12345. 

 
Item 13.  Remarks:  Use this section to explain items above where more space is needed before using an attachment page  
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Item 14. Affidavit Section.  The notary will complete  and print the name for the person being notarized at the 

BY:_____and must sign this form below at the ___ line and stamp the form in the area indicated. Owners, agents or 
representatives attesting to the facts must sign at the signature line only in the presence of the notary public. Fill in 
the current contact information for the mailing address and phone number and check the correct box as agent or 
owner.  Our office provides notary service at no charge for water right related documents. Please allow 1 to 6 months 
processing time from submittal date to receive a response from our office.  If in the review process, deficiencies 
are detected, follow-up letters to owners or their representatives requesting additional information will be sent 
which will allow sixty (60) days for compliance.  After this time frame the Conveyance Packet(s) become subject 
to rejection.   

 
The submitting agent or owner will be mailed the original Confirmation of Assignment letter by First Class Mail (FCM) 

along with a statement mentioning verification is available by visiting our website.  Certain agents or 
representatives on record will receive a copy of the confirmation letter.  An option to receive correspondence by 
electronic means and not by FCM is outlined below and indicated by a checkbox on Item 3 of the ROC when the 
consent form is on file. 

 
NOTE:  It is the responsibility of owners to file changes of address with this office. 

 
F R E Q U E N T L Y  A S K E D  Q U E S T I O N S: 

 
How and when will I receive a confirmation that my rights have been changed into my name?  

Answer. Please allow our office anywhere from one to six months to process depending upon our workload.  If you 
prefer to receive your correspondence by email instead of a hard copy by USPS, please check the box under Item 3 and 
include the CONSENT TO ELECTRONIC DELIVERY OF DOCUMENTS form from our website.  Addressee will be the 
affiant on the R.O.C. 

 
Why do I need to file a Report of Conveyance to update the title records in the State Engineer’s Office? 

Answer:  State Statutes require submittal of all conveyances of water rights taking place after October 1, 1995 to be 
filed in our office.  Timely filing helps prevent future title conflicts created by insufficient or incorrect documentation that 
become difficult and costly to resolve later.  As more water rights are changed and ownership is divided and transferred 
frequently, it is increasingly important for all the conveyance documents involved in the chain of title be on file in our office 
to allow equitable and accurate decisions affecting those rights and proper noticing of actions related to the subject water 
rights.  As water rights are changed or sold, the State Engineer’s staff provides reviews to validate and “confirm” those 
rights to the proper owners. 
 
How can I determine what my water rights really are? 

Answer:  The public records and staff in the Division of Water Resources are available to citizens and professionals to 
help research, evaluate, and establish ownerships and resolve other water right issues.  The State Engineer’s website 
contains many searchable databases that are accessible online but information obtained is subject to our disclaimers and 
should be verified against the actual water right files. 

 
What does the status of a water right mean? 
Answer:  The status indicates the point in the administrative process reached towards perfecting a water right application.  
The usual sequence is application, ready for action (RFA), permit, and finally a certificate. Applications are assigned a 
permanent serial number.  An application becomes RFA 30 days after the last date of publication.  Permit status is obtained 
only when the State Engineer approves it. The permit terms set forth conditions, submittals and time frames that must be 
met.  A Permit’s “duty” is only a temporary allowance and the final duty under a Permit will be dependent upon the amount 
of water actually placed to beneficial use.  A Certificate may be issued when a water right’s Proof of Application of Water 
to Beneficial Use has been verified.  

 
Proofs are claims of vested rights filed by notarized Affidavit attesting to perpetual historical usage beginning prior to the 
first water law statutes. They are assigned a permanent serial number.  The adjudication process is an orderly statutory 
procedure by which a court “takes proofs” to determine owners, priorities and amounts of water usage. It then issues a court 
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order to “decree” the rights to a source of water.  After a court order is issued, the proof status may change to a decreed 
right. 

    
What does the term supplemental rights and Total Combined Duty mean? 

Answer:  Supplemental rights share the same or an overlapping place of use.  Multiple sources of water or Points of 
Diversion may be used and/or multiple applications may be filed on a single point of diversion to satisfy all the demand 
required within the place of use.  Often, supplemental rights will reference other permit numbers and a maximum total 
combined duty that can be used to satisfy the demand.  Other supplemental rights don’t state their complementary permits 
but are supplemental due to a shared place of use.  The total combined duty may be stated in the terms of the permit to be 
the total amount of water that can be diverted to meet the maximum allowed under all of the supplemental permits.  
Groundwater supplemental rights issues can be determined through a review of the records in the S.E. office or as indicated 
in our Permits Database under Abrogation, Ruling, and Protest Info (Page 4) for each water right record.  

 
Why do I need to indicate the County in two places on the form for question 8? 

Answer:  If the point of diversion is in a different county than the place(s) of use, state law requires conveyance 
documents be recorded in each respective county.  Recording serves to notify the public that a title transfer has occurred. 
The recording numbers and recorders stamp from each county must be legible on your transfer documents and all county 
numbers are to be included on the abstract of title.  

 
If there is a change application involved, how do I know which application or permit to file my Report of 
Conveyance on? 

Answer: The important thing to remember is the names have to match between the earlier right and the changed right-
you must own the earlier base right before you can change it.  If the change application is in the new owner name, then file 
the Report of Conveyance on the base right.  If the base right is in the previous owners name, then file the Report of 
Conveyance on the base right and file any new change application in the new owners name.  Otherwise, you may need to 
file a Report of Conveyance on both rights.  Once the change application is pending, it is best if a deed mentions both rights 
so that it can work to transfer either one or both rights. 

 
Why and when do I have to file a map?  

Answer:  If a map is referenced in any of the transfer documents listed on the abstract of title form the map must be 
included in the conveyance packet, unless the property conveyed therein is fully defined in the transfer document with a 
legal description.  Such a description would contain survey information to the nearest 40-acre subdivision shown such as 
SE¼ SE¼ Sec. 1, T12N R19E, M.D.B.&M.  When a transfer document references property with Lot and Block numbers, a 
copy of the applicable subdivision map from the county assessor’s office must be submitted.  If maps are already on file in 
this office, they may be noted in Remarks as “A.O.F.” with the file number referenced.  Other GIS or topographic maps 
may be requested if not submitted for depicting the Points of Diversion and grazing allotment boundaries for extensive 
range users. 
How will I know that your records have been updated to show my name as an owner? 

Answer: You will receive a letter of confirmation showing the name(s) of the new owner(s) by diversion rate, duty 
amounts and/or acres or units along with a statement directing you to verify this online at our Permits database at 
http://water.nv.gov  Please review the confirmation letter carefully for accuracy, as these documents become the official 
records of ownership in the files of the State Engineer.  Please notify this office of any discrepancies noted. 

 
I have a lot of Permits.  Can I do these forms on my computer? 

Answer: Yes.  Computerized forms are available on-line at http://water.nv.gov in user fill-able Adobe Reader .pdf 
formats.  Contact our office for more information. 
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R E L A T E D  S T A T U T E S 
 
Chapter 533.382 of NRS.  Forms, acknowledgment and recording of conveyance. 
Except as otherwise provided in Chapter 533.387 every conveyance of an application or permit to appropriate any of the public 

waters, a certificate of appropriation, an adjudicated or unadjudicated water right or an application or permit to change the place of 
diversion, manner of use or place of use of water must be: 

 1.  Made by a deed. 
 2.  Acknowledged in the manner provided in NRS 240.161 to 240.168, inclusive; and 
 3.  Recorded in the office of the county recorder of each county in which the water is applied to beneficial use and in each county in 

which the water is diverted from its natural source. 
 
Chapter 533.383 of NRS.  Effect of recording or failing to record deed of conveyance. 
 1.  The recording of a deed pursuant to NRS 533.382 shall be deemed to impart notice of the contents of the deed to all persons at 

the time the deed is recorded, and a subsequent purchaser or mortgagee shall be deemed to purchase and take with notice of the contents 
of the deed. 

 2.  The deed of: 
  ..  (a) An application of permit to appropriate any of the public waters; 
  ..  (b) A certificate of appropriation; 
  ..  (c) An adjudicated or unadjudicated water right; or 

 (d) An application or permit to change the place of diversion, manner of use or place of use water, that has not been recorded 
as required  

Chapter 533.382 shall be deemed void as against a subsequent purchaser who in good faith and for valuable consideration 
purchases the same application, right, certificate or permit, or any portion thereof, if the subsequent purchaser first records his deed 
in compliance with Chapter 533.382. 
 
Chapter 533.384 of NRS.  Filings required by person to whom conveyance is made. 
 1.  A person to whom is conveyed an application or permit to appropriate any of the public waters, a certificate of appropriation, an 

adjudicated or unadjudicated water right or an application or permit to change the place of diversion, manner of use or place of use of 
water, shall: 

   (a) File with the State Engineer, together with the prescribed fee, a report of conveyance which includes the following 
information on a form provided by the State Engineer: 

    (1) An abstract of title; 
    (2) Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, a copy of any deed, written agreement or other document pertaining to the 

conveyance; and 
    (3) Any other information requested by the State Engineer. 
   (b) If the place of use of the water is wholly or partly within the boundaries of an irrigation district, file with the irrigation 

district: 
    (1) An abstract of title;  
    (2) Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, a copy of any deed, written agreement or other document pertaining to the 

conveyance. 
 2.  The governing body of any local government of this state and any public utility which is a purveyor of water within the state may 

submit an affidavit or other document upon oath in lieu of the documents otherwise required by subparagraph (2) of paragraphs (a) and 
(b) of subsection 1, if the State Engineer finds that: 

   (a) The affidavit clearly indicates that rights for diverting or appropriating water described in the affidavit are owned or 
controlled by the governing body or utility; and 

  ..  (b) The affiant is qualified to sign the affidavit. 
 
Chapter 533.386 of NRS.  Duties of State Engineer concerning conveyances. 

 1.  The State Engineer shall confirm that the report of conveyance required by paragraph (a) of subsection 1 of Chapter 533.384 
includes all material required by that subsection and that: 

   (a) The report is accompanied by the prescribed fee; 
   (b) No conflict exists in the chain of title that can be determined by the State Engineer from the conveyance documents or from 

other information on file in the office of the State Engineer; and    
 (c) The State Engineer is able to determine the rate of diversion and the amount of water conveyed in acre-feet or million gallons 

 from the conveyance documents or from other information on file in the Office of the State Engineer. 
2. If the State Engineer confirms a report of conveyance pursuant to subsection1, he shall in a timely manner provide a notice of the 

confirmation to the person who submitted the report of conveyance.  The notice must include, without limitation: 
(a)  A statement indicating that neither the confirmation of the report of conveyance nor the report of conveyance, if the report sets 

forth the amount of water conveyed, guarantees that: 
  .. (1)  The water right is in good standing with the Office of the State Engineer; or 
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(2) The amount of water referenced in the notice or in the report of conveyance is the actual amount of water that a person is  
entitled to use upon the conveyance of the application or permit to appropriate any of the public waters, the certificate of appropriation, 
the adjudicated or unadjudicated water right, or the application or permit to change the place of diversion, manner of use or place of use 
of water.  

 (b)  A statement that the confirmation of the report of conveyance is not a determination of ownership and that only a court of 
competent jurisdiction may adjudicate conflicting claims to ownership of a water right.  
 3.  If the State Engineer determines that the report of conveyance is deficient, he shall reject the report of conveyance and return it to 
the person who submitted it with: 

(a) An explanation of the deficiency; and    
(b) A notice stating that the State Engineer will not confirm a report of conveyance that has been rejected unless the report is 

resubmitted with the material required to cure the deficiency. The notice must also include a statement of the provision of subsection 5. 
   4.  If, from the conveyance documents or other information in the Office of the State Engineer, it appears to the State Engineer that there 
is a conflict in the chain of title, the State Engineer shall reject the report of conveyance and return it to the person who submitted it, 
together with: 

(a) An explanation that a conflict appears to exist in the chain of title; and 
(b) A notice stating that the State Engineer will not take further action with respect to the report of conveyance until a court of 

competent jurisdiction has determined the conflicting claims to ownership of the water right and the determination has be come final or 
until a final resolution of the conflicting claims has otherwise occurred. The notice must also include a statement of the provisions of 
subsection 5. 
  5.  The State Engineer shall not consider or treat the person to whom: 

(a)  An application or permit to appropriate any of the public waters; 
(b)  A certificate of appropriation; 
(c)  An adjudicated or unadjudicated water right; or 
(d)  An application or permit to change the place of diversion, manner of use or place of use of water, is conveyed as the owner or 

holder of the application, right, certificate or permit for the purposes for this chapter, including, without limitation, all advisements and 
other notices required of the State Engineer and the granting of permits to change the place of diversion, manner of use or place of use of 
water, until a report of the conveyance is confirmed pursuant to subsection 1. 
 6.  If the State Engineer is notified that a court of competent jurisdiction has entered a judgment confirming ownership of a water right 
or resolving a conflict in a  chain of title, and that the judgment has become final, the State Engineer shall take such administrative action 
as is appropriate or necessary to conform the records of the Office of the State Engineer with the judgment of the court, including, without 
limitation, amending or withdrawing a permit or certificate that was previously approved by the State Engineer. 

 
Chapter 533.387 of NRS.  Inapplicability of certain provisions to conveyance of shares of stock in ditch company.  
The provisions of Chapter 533.382 to 533.386, inclusive, do not apply to the conveyance of shares of stock in a ditch company which 

owns: 
1.  An application or permit to appropriate any of the public waters; 
2.  A certificate of appropriation; 
3.  An adjudicated or unadjudicated water right; or 
4.  An application or permit to change the place of diversion, manner of use or place of use of water. 
 
Chapter 533.435 of NRS.  Fees of state engineer.  
1.  The State Engineer shall collect the following fees: 
For examining and filing a report of conveyance filed pursuant to paragraph (a) subsection 1 of NRS 533.384 
  ..  Report of conveyance .............. $120.00 
    Plus $20.00 per conveyance document. 
    For filing any other instrument .... $10.00 
 
Chapter 111.167 of NRS.  Presumption of conveyance with land: Water rights, permits, certificates and applications appurtenant 

to land. 
Unless the deed conveying land specifically provides otherwise, all: 
 1.  Applications and permits to appropriate any of the public waters; 
 2.  Certificates of appropriation; 

3.  Adjudicated or unadjudicated water rights; and 
 4.  Applications or permits to change the place of diversion, manner of use or place of use of water, which are appurtenant to the 

land are presumed to be conveyed with the land. 
 

 
Chapter 375.010 of NRS.  Definitions.  
The following terms, wherever used or referred to in this chapter, have the following meaning unless a different meaning clearly 

appears in the context: 
 

 <Back to the top> 



 

9  

 
 1. "Deed" means every instrument in writing, except a last will and testament, whatever its form, and by whatever name it is known 

in law, by which title to any estate or present interest in real property, including a water right, permit, certificate or application, is 
conveyed or transferred to, and vested in, another person, but does not include a lease for any term of years or an easement. 

 2. "Value" means: 
  (a) In the case of any deed not a gift, the amount of the full, actual consideration paid or to be paid, excluding the amount of liens 
assumed.  
      (b) In the case of a gift, or any deed with nominal consideration or without stated consideration, the estimated price the real 

property would bring in an open market and under the then prevailing market conditions in a sale between a willing seller and a willing 
buyer, both conversant with the property and with prevailing general price levels. 

 
 
Practical tips for Agents and buyers and sellers in real estate transactions and filing of the Report of 

Conveyance. 
 

1. Always check your property descriptions, grantors/grantees, etc. for accuracy by proof reading every 
word in the conveyance documents. 

2. Always check the legal names of corporate entities with the Nevada Secretary of State’s website at 
http://nvsos.gov/sosentitysearch/ 

3. It’s usually best to use a full description of each water right involved by naming them specifically with 
both Permit and Certificate numbers and Proof or Claim Nos. in deed or conveyance document. 

4. Check the page formatting requirements to avoid the $25.00 non-conforming document charge assessed 
at the county. 

5. Deeds that sell land without describing any appurtenant water rights still convey them if no reservations 
are declared but can leave them open to interpretation and ambiguity. 

6. Title companies do not insure water rights as part of their title insurance policy and therefore often 
separate the water rights from a land deed without first reserving them and then create a redundant water 
right deed recorded simultaneously as the next consecutive recorded document.  

7. Deeds constructed for a base property with grazing rights on public land should enumerate the intent to 
include the range and stock water rights in the deed or specifically reserve them rather than leave them 
unstated and the intent unclear. 

8. Chains of title must be complete starting from the current holder of record in our office to the most 
current recorded deed. Records are updated daily but only records having ROC’s filed since 2002 have 
ownership records updated in our Permits database. The legal record is not our database but the actual 
hard copy of each water right file and should be researched along with county records to perform due 
diligence.  

9. When deeds or changes of address are not filed in a timely manner with our office, it can put ownership at 
risk of loss from various actions that arise involving the mailing of notices that go undelivered or other 
unforeseen circumstances. 

10. See NRS 111.167 above! A thorough understanding of the doctrine of appurtenance, Nevada water law, 
the language of deeds, and more is essential to engaging in property transactions and avoiding disputes 
to be settled in a court of competent jurisdiction. 
 
 
When in doubt, don’t hesitate to hire an expert! 
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Loan or Escrow Number: ___________

NOTICE OF PLEDGE

State of Nevada 
Division of Water Resources 
901 S. Stewart Street 
Carson City,  Nevada 89701

Attn: State Engineer

Please be notified that the undersigned have this date executed a DEED OF TRUST in favor of  

covering certain land in 

(See attached legal description and water right information in Exhibit A.)

The said DEED OF TRUST, given to secure a promissory note of even date, was recorded  
in the Office of the County Recorder of County as Instrument No. 

in Book No. , Page(s)
Please file this notice with your records of the above-referenced water rights and direct any notices of the intended 
change of the Place of Use (P.O.U.), Manner of Use (M.O.U.), or Point of Diversion (P.O.D.), or any other matter 
which materially affects the beneficiary's security interest in the said rights to

Dated this day of , 20

Institutional Officer's Signature or Beneficiary and Title Trustor's Signature and Typed Name

Trustor's Signature and Printed Name Trustor's Signature and Printed Name

Receipt of this Notice of Pledge is hereby acknowledged with the signature of a duly qualified employee of the Division of  
Water Resources.  An original copy, signed by Trustor's and Beneficiary's listed above, of this notation of the                       % 
security interest in the above referenced water rights will be placed in the files of the Division of Water Resources. After 
DWR signing of both duplicate original copies, please return one original copy to  
                                       .  Beneficiary hereby agrees to keep the DWR office notified of any changes of address and to 
forward any reconveyances within 30 days of proper recording dates to release the above encumbrance in the ownership 
records. 
 

Date DWR Employees Signature                        Title

Duplicate Original  No.  1     2   (Circle on each copy)

                                                                                                     County, Nevada 
together with all of the Trustor's right to any and/or all water rights, ditch and ditch rights, appurtenant to the 
described land, including, but not limited to, water from an underground source as listed below:



AFFIDAVIT OF IDENTITY - INDIVIDUAL

State of

County of

)
)
)
)

Affiant, , being first duly sworn on his/her oath, states 

that (s)he is familiar with and acknowledges that (s)he

is one in the same person as , who is also known as 

and .

Affiant Signature before Notary Public

This instrument was acknowledged before me on 

by
Date

Name of Person(s)
.

Signature of notarial officer

My commission expires:  

Month, Day, Year

Notary Stamp

Print Name



AFFIDAVIT OF IDENTITY - REPRESENTATIVE

State of

County of

)
)
)
)

Affiant, , being first duly sworn on his/her oath, states 

that (s)he is familiar with and acknowledges that (s)he

is one in the same person as , who is also known as 

and .

Affiant Signature before Notary Public

This instrument was acknowledged before me on 

by
Date

Name of Person(s)

.

Signature of notarial officer

My commission expires:  

Month, Day, Year

Notary Stamp

as
Type of Authority, e.g. Officer, Trustee, etc.

of

Name of party on behalf of whom instrument was executed

Title and rank (optional)

Print Name



ABSTRACT OF TITLE
Please retain this sheet underneath the Summary of Ownership form

PERMIT

PAGE

DEED 
NO. GRANTOR GRANTEE CFS AFA ACRES

FILED 
UNDER 
DATE

DOC 
# 

DATE

DOCUMENT 
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Withdrawn on:     by: mail ______ fax _______ email______        Rev. 3/2012 

State of Nevada 
Division of Water Resources 

CONSENT TO ELECTRONIC DELIVERY OF DOCUMENTS 
 

 
I, the undersigned, consent to receive electronic delivery of documents from the Division of Water 
Resources (Division). This consent does not apply to any notice, disclosure or other communication that 
the Division is required by Nevada Revised Statute to send in hard copy through the postal mail. The 
consent granted herein will continue indefinitely, unless it is revoked in accordance with the terms set 
forth below. 
 
If you would like to withdraw your consent for electronic delivery of all eligible documents and receive 
paper copies, please send a Request to Withdraw Consent for Correspondence form to; State of 
Nevada, Division of Water Resources, 901 S. Stewart St., Ste. 2002, Carson City, NV 89701 or fax at 
(775) 684-2811.  
 
“Electronic Delivery” means making information available by: 
 • Transmitting such information in an email or, at our option, in an attachment to an email, to your 
 email address of record; or 
 • Sending notice to your email address of record that such information is available on our 
 website or with instructions on how to access such information. 
 
It is the responsibility of the recipient to notify the Division of any changes to their email address. 
 
Please mail the completed form to; State of Nevada, Division of Water Resources, 901 S. Stewart St., 
Ste. 2002, Carson City, NV 89701 or fax at (775) 684-2811   
 
  
Name:                
 
 
Company Name:             
 
 
Address:              
 
 
City/State/zip:              
 
             
Telephone:              
 
  
Email Address:             
(If multiple addresses please list below) 
 
 
Additional email address(s):            
 
 

 I am the permit holder    
 

 Agent/correspondent  Signature:     Date:    
 


	STATE OF NEVADA
	STATE ENGINEER’S OFFICE

