

WATER RIGHTS FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Q: Do I have water rights, or does this location have water rights?

- **Answer:** There are several information sources that can be found online. These include but are not limited to the Water Rights Database (<u>Basic Water Right Search</u> and <u>Advanced Water Right Search</u>) and <u>Water Rights Mapping Application</u>. To be certain of what you find, you should follow up with a call or visit to the Division's office. To help us assist you, please be prepared to provide as much of the following information as possible, including:
 - The reason you think you may have a water right.
 - Any permit, certificate, or claim number you think are associated with the water right you may have.
 - Any relevant documentation (e.g., a deed) that calls out a water right or describes the land you believe the water right may be appurtenant.
 - The location of the property in question, preferably by the Public Land Survey System description, or description by survey, subdivision map, or parcel map. In some cases, a County Assessor's parcel number may be of use.

Q: When can I file a Application of Water Proof to Beneficial Use?

- **Answer:** Once water has been placed to beneficial use for the approved permitted manner of use, a Proof of Application of Water to Beneficial Use form can be submitted for the actual amount of water placed to beneficial use. If a totalizing meter was required in the permit terms, then twelve (12) consecutive months of meter readings must be submitted along with the Proof of Application of Water to Beneficial Use.
 - Example 1: Permit A is permitted for quasi-municipal purposes for 4 homes and a totalizing meter is required. A completion of all 4 homes and landscaping, the Proof of Application of Water to Beneficial Use may be submitted with 12 months of meter readings.
 - Example 2: Permit B is permitted for the irrigation of 10 acres and a totalizing meter is required. After a crop is grown and harvested, the Proof of Application of Water to Beneficial Use may be submitted along with meter readings for the irrigation season during which the crop was grown.

Q: I think I have Truckee River water rights. Can I use them or sell them?

• **Answer:** In addition to the answer above, you can also visit the Truckee Meadows Water Authority website for information about Truckee River water rights.



WATER RIGHTS FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Q: What are the possible penalties for someone found to be in violation of water law, regulation, permit terms, orders or other requirements of the State Engineer?

- Answer: Possible penalties per Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 533.481, 534.193, 535.200, and 536.200:
 - Payment of an administrative fine not to exceed \$10,000 per day per violation.
 - o Replacement of not more that 200% of the water used, wasted, or diverted; and/or
 - Payment of the costs of the proceeding, including investigative costs and attorney's fees.

Q: When is an environmental permit required?

• **Answer:** Pursuant to NRS 533.4373(1), an environmental permit is required when, under order from the Nevada Division of Environmental Protection, it is required to appropriate water for treatment/clean-up and discharge of clean water to a different source.

Q: How do I make a complaint when I believe someone may be in violation of water law, state regulation, permit terms, orders, or other requirements of the State Engineer?

• **Answer:** To report a violation, complete a Request to Investigate an Alleged Violation form and submit to the Nevada Division of Water Resources at 901 S. Stewart St., Suite 2002, Carson City, NV 89701.